Author Topic: UPdating AVG  (Read 4545 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8712
    • Carole's images
UPdating AVG
« on: Oct 27, 2011, 12:51:41 »
I am trying to update the AVG on my clapped out old XP so my grandson can use it - using mobile broadband.

I haven't used it on line for some time so wanted to update AVG which I have done,  it has downloaded an update and I've re-started, but Antivirus and Antispyware still says it is out of date.  So I ask it to update again.  It tells me there are no more updates required and then promptly the Antivirus and antispyware icons go orange again and tell me it is out of date.

Any ideas what is happening here?

Carole
« Last Edit: Oct 27, 2011, 12:59:55 by Carole »

Mike

  • Observing Consultant
  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8501
    • Electronicle
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #1 on: Oct 27, 2011, 12:55:27 »
If it's been left for a long time without an update then it may need several updates to get it up to date.
We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology. Carl Sagan

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8712
    • Carole's images
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #2 on: Oct 27, 2011, 13:00:27 »
Hi Mike, even though it is telling me no more updates are required?

Carole

Mike

  • Observing Consultant
  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8501
    • Electronicle
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #3 on: Oct 27, 2011, 13:54:43 »
Did you try turning it off and back on again?
We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology. Carl Sagan

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8712
    • Carole's images
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #4 on: Oct 27, 2011, 14:54:16 »
Yes, it also said I would need to do so for the updates to take effect.

Carole

Mac

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 3352
    • Espania.
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #5 on: Oct 27, 2011, 17:48:08 »
check your date and time in the bios as well as the system clock, as they might have reset if its not been used for that long.

Mac
Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
If you argue with an idiot, there are two idiots.

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8712
    • Carole's images
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #6 on: Oct 27, 2011, 18:30:28 »
Duh, never use bios, no idea where or how to find it.

Will check the system clock. 

Thanks

Carole

Mac

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 3352
    • Espania.
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #7 on: Oct 27, 2011, 18:36:58 »
go get into the bios you need to reboot and press F2, (normally)
it normaly tells you on your screen wht to press to enter setup.

check that that date and time is correct, as that causes all sorts of problems,
more then your system time.
Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
If you argue with an idiot, there are two idiots.

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8712
    • Carole's images
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #8 on: Oct 28, 2011, 17:22:26 »
Thanks Mac, will try this over the weekend. 

Carole

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8712
    • Carole's images
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #9 on: Oct 29, 2011, 12:43:39 »
Hi Mac, tried rebooting and pressing F2 but it just took me into normal PC screen.  I held my finger on F2.
Tried again and this time it kept making a bleeping noise when I kept my finger on F2 and then once again took me into the normal PC screen.

Is there anything else I can try?
the date and time are OK on the PC clock.

Carole

The Thing

  • Mr October
  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 2935
  • The OAS International Branch
    • AstroManche
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #10 on: Oct 29, 2011, 13:10:46 »
Try DEL. A lot of bios' use that as an entry key.
We're all guinea pigs in the laboratory of life. Better a fluffy guinea pig than a lab rat!
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ (Gallic shrug :))

Mac

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 3352
    • Espania.
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #11 on: Oct 29, 2011, 14:22:47 »
normally when it boots, the screen will tell you what key to press to enter setup/bios.

Mac
Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
If you argue with an idiot, there are two idiots.

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8712
    • Carole's images
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #12 on: Oct 29, 2011, 15:18:46 »
Quote
Try DEL. A lot of bios' use that as an entry key.
NO that didn't work.
On start up is says F10 = Rom based set up.
Tried pressing F10 and it still won't work.

I have tried holding the key down from the time I press the start button until I get a screen which is always the normal PC screen, and have also tried waiting until the F10 = ROM based set up screen comes on before pressing and holding it.

This is not a major problem since I only want to use this on occasions and not vital, just might be handy sometimes.  However I do like to get to the bottom of things.

Carole

Rocket Pooch

  • Non-OAS
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 5027
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #13 on: Oct 30, 2011, 19:00:56 »
Why don't you just change the time normally?

Mac

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 3352
    • Espania.
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #14 on: Oct 30, 2011, 20:41:00 »
when you turn it on,
dont press and hold it as this will probably show up as a keyboard error,

just keep tapping it when you turn it on.

 :idea:

I take it this keyboard is the main keyboard on the pc and not a wireless one.
if it is wireless it wont work as the wireless part is not initialised during the
initial boot up.

Mac.
Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
If you argue with an idiot, there are two idiots.