Author Topic: UPdating AVG  (Read 4738 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8761
    • Carole's images
UPdating AVG
« on: Oct 27, 2011, 12:51:41 »
I am trying to update the AVG on my clapped out old XP so my grandson can use it - using mobile broadband.

I haven't used it on line for some time so wanted to update AVG which I have done,  it has downloaded an update and I've re-started, but Antivirus and Antispyware still says it is out of date.  So I ask it to update again.  It tells me there are no more updates required and then promptly the Antivirus and antispyware icons go orange again and tell me it is out of date.

Any ideas what is happening here?

Carole
« Last Edit: Oct 27, 2011, 12:59:55 by Carole »

Mike

  • Observing Consultant
  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8506
    • Electronicle
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #1 on: Oct 27, 2011, 12:55:27 »
If it's been left for a long time without an update then it may need several updates to get it up to date.
We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology. Carl Sagan

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8761
    • Carole's images
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #2 on: Oct 27, 2011, 13:00:27 »
Hi Mike, even though it is telling me no more updates are required?

Carole

Mike

  • Observing Consultant
  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8506
    • Electronicle
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #3 on: Oct 27, 2011, 13:54:43 »
Did you try turning it off and back on again?
We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology. Carl Sagan

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8761
    • Carole's images
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #4 on: Oct 27, 2011, 14:54:16 »
Yes, it also said I would need to do so for the updates to take effect.

Carole

Mac

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 3366
    • Espania.
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #5 on: Oct 27, 2011, 17:48:08 »
check your date and time in the bios as well as the system clock, as they might have reset if its not been used for that long.

Mac
Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
If you argue with an idiot, there are two idiots.

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8761
    • Carole's images
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #6 on: Oct 27, 2011, 18:30:28 »
Duh, never use bios, no idea where or how to find it.

Will check the system clock. 

Thanks

Carole

Mac

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 3366
    • Espania.
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #7 on: Oct 27, 2011, 18:36:58 »
go get into the bios you need to reboot and press F2, (normally)
it normaly tells you on your screen wht to press to enter setup.

check that that date and time is correct, as that causes all sorts of problems,
more then your system time.
Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
If you argue with an idiot, there are two idiots.

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8761
    • Carole's images
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #8 on: Oct 28, 2011, 17:22:26 »
Thanks Mac, will try this over the weekend. 

Carole

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8761
    • Carole's images
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #9 on: Oct 29, 2011, 12:43:39 »
Hi Mac, tried rebooting and pressing F2 but it just took me into normal PC screen.  I held my finger on F2.
Tried again and this time it kept making a bleeping noise when I kept my finger on F2 and then once again took me into the normal PC screen.

Is there anything else I can try?
the date and time are OK on the PC clock.

Carole

The Thing

  • Mr October
  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 2950
  • The OAS International Branch
    • AstroManche
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #10 on: Oct 29, 2011, 13:10:46 »
Try DEL. A lot of bios' use that as an entry key.
We're all guinea pigs in the laboratory of life. Better a fluffy guinea pig than a lab rat!
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ (Gallic shrug :))

Mac

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 3366
    • Espania.
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #11 on: Oct 29, 2011, 14:22:47 »
normally when it boots, the screen will tell you what key to press to enter setup/bios.

Mac
Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
If you argue with an idiot, there are two idiots.

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8761
    • Carole's images
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #12 on: Oct 29, 2011, 15:18:46 »
Quote
Try DEL. A lot of bios' use that as an entry key.
NO that didn't work.
On start up is says F10 = Rom based set up.
Tried pressing F10 and it still won't work.

I have tried holding the key down from the time I press the start button until I get a screen which is always the normal PC screen, and have also tried waiting until the F10 = ROM based set up screen comes on before pressing and holding it.

This is not a major problem since I only want to use this on occasions and not vital, just might be handy sometimes.  However I do like to get to the bottom of things.

Carole

Rocket Pooch

  • Non-OAS
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 5027
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #13 on: Oct 30, 2011, 19:00:56 »
Why don't you just change the time normally?

Mac

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 3366
    • Espania.
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #14 on: Oct 30, 2011, 20:41:00 »
when you turn it on,
dont press and hold it as this will probably show up as a keyboard error,

just keep tapping it when you turn it on.

 :idea:

I take it this keyboard is the main keyboard on the pc and not a wireless one.
if it is wireless it wont work as the wireless part is not initialised during the
initial boot up.

Mac.
Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
If you argue with an idiot, there are two idiots.

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8761
    • Carole's images
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #15 on: Oct 30, 2011, 20:56:11 »
Quote
Why don't you just change the time normally?
Chris if you read the thread above you will see Mac recommended I check the time in the bios as well as the time on the laptop which is correct, the problem is I am having difficulty accessing the BIOS.

Quote
just keep tapping it when you turn it on.
I'll give that a try Mac.  Yes it's the keyboard on the laptop.  I take it then F10 is the right key to press?

Carole

Mac

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 3366
    • Espania.
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #16 on: Oct 31, 2011, 04:44:10 »
If thats what it says on the screen during boot then yes.

Mac.
Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
If you argue with an idiot, there are two idiots.

mickw

  • Exile Under Darker Skies
  • R.I.P.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 5683
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #17 on: Oct 31, 2011, 08:29:20 »
Why not forget about clocks, uninstall AVG then download and install it again
Growing Old is mandatory - Growing Up is optional

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8761
    • Carole's images
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #18 on: Oct 31, 2011, 08:59:58 »
Already did that Mick.  Still tells me that the AVG is out of date would you believe it.

Carole

mickw

  • Exile Under Darker Skies
  • R.I.P.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 5683
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #19 on: Oct 31, 2011, 09:07:24 »
Plan B

Just give him the laptop anyway - he'll probably have it sorted in 10 minutes
Growing Old is mandatory - Growing Up is optional

Mike

  • Observing Consultant
  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8506
    • Electronicle
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #20 on: Oct 31, 2011, 09:27:06 »
Why not just install a different antivirus?
We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology. Carl Sagan

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8761
    • Carole's images
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #21 on: Oct 31, 2011, 10:53:01 »
Quote
Insert Quote
Why not just install a different antivirus?
could do, but hardly any space on the disk.

Finally got into BIOS.
Only date I could find in anything on there was in File/System info where it said the ROM date was 10/13/2001 and in MORE it said the keyboard controller date was 10/10/01
No options to change either of these though.

If this can't be sorted easily I am not going to bother any-one with doing it for me as I rarely put it on-line.  Normally only if I need to download a programme and as I have everything set up for my Vista laptop now, that is not likely to happen.  I only wanted to use it on line when my grandchildren come round so I don't have to let them use my other computers (desktop or Vista).  Just in case they muck anything up.  

I do however use it for networking to my observatory (now Phil has mended the ethernet port).  

Carole

Fay

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 9210
    • Faysastroimages
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #22 on: Nov 08, 2011, 17:03:09 »
I have AVG free version, but I am getting reminders that it runs out in 3 days & I have to now purchase it. It this correct, not free any more?
It is healthier to be mutton dressed as lamb, than mutton dressed as mutton!

mickw

  • Exile Under Darker Skies
  • R.I.P.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 5683
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #23 on: Nov 08, 2011, 17:12:55 »
I think they have a free version and a trial version (of the full thing), sounds like you downloaded the trial rather than the free.

See what happens if you ignore the warning.
Growing Old is mandatory - Growing Up is optional

Mac

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 3366
    • Espania.
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #24 on: Nov 08, 2011, 18:29:43 »
Quote
See what happens if you ignore the warning.

listen to the voices they are always right. :twisted:

Mac
Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
If you argue with an idiot, there are two idiots.

Ivor

  • Past Chairman
  • O. A. S.
  • Star Class
  • *
  • Posts: 595
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #25 on: Nov 09, 2011, 16:26:16 »
There are two types of updates with AVG, virus database and actual application version. AVG recently upgraded the version of AVG to version 2012 if you are running an older version they probably stopped supplying updated virus databases and you are being told the virus db is out of date. Check the version, if it isn't 2012 deinstall it and load the latest version.

Hope it helps.

Fay

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 9210
    • Faysastroimages
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #26 on: Nov 09, 2011, 16:31:18 »
Thanks Ivor, will sort it out
It is healthier to be mutton dressed as lamb, than mutton dressed as mutton!

Fay

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 9210
    • Faysastroimages
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #27 on: Nov 10, 2011, 09:29:02 »
have one day to go & downloaded the free version but am told, the free version will only last a day. I must have some protection in place by tomorrow. Help!


It is healthier to be mutton dressed as lamb, than mutton dressed as mutton!

Ivor

  • Past Chairman
  • O. A. S.
  • Star Class
  • *
  • Posts: 595
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #28 on: Nov 10, 2011, 12:05:38 »
Which version are you trying to use is it off this page? http://free.avg.com/gb-en/free-antivirus-download
You need to select the first column.


Fay

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 9210
    • Faysastroimages
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #29 on: Nov 10, 2011, 12:15:01 »
No the page did not look like that. I will give it a go, not sure how it will like the existing 1 day left version. Thanks Ivor
It is healthier to be mutton dressed as lamb, than mutton dressed as mutton!

Fay

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 9210
    • Faysastroimages
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #30 on: Nov 10, 2011, 12:16:57 »
looking at that page though, I do need the safer shopping and banking bit, which is not the free one
It is healthier to be mutton dressed as lamb, than mutton dressed as mutton!

Ivor

  • Past Chairman
  • O. A. S.
  • Star Class
  • *
  • Posts: 595
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #31 on: Nov 10, 2011, 12:56:24 »
BTW What version does the current version say it is?

No you don't need the safe shopping bit as you should need to part with any credit card details.

Unfortunately my PC is so locked down at work I'm surprised I can even access the forum, alas this means I can't upload images to help you.

So on the first screen click the big GREEN button which says "DOWNLOAD* Basic Protection"

New webpage opens.... http://download.cnet.com/AVG-Anti-Virus-Free-Edition-2012/3000-2239_4-10320142.html?part=dl-avg_free_gb&subj=dl&tag=button

scroll down click the big RED button which says "START DOWNLOAD"

When you start the install it should ask you whether you want to overwrite the old version, if you have problems at this point try deinstalling the old version before installing the new version.

Fay

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 9210
    • Faysastroimages
Re: UPdating AVG
« Reply #32 on: Nov 11, 2011, 09:41:12 »
Ivor, I succumbed to paying. I do a lot of banking etc on this desktop & did not want to leave myself open. I tried downloading the free one again & it said it was only valid for a day.
It is healthier to be mutton dressed as lamb, than mutton dressed as mutton!