• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

clear tonight

Started by Fay, Jan 07, 2016, 15:56:27

Previous topic - Next topic

Fay

Just wandered up the garden to see the situation after the deluge today. it is far too muddy and wet for me tonight. bit fedup about it. it will be a good night if no wind
It is healthier to be mutton dressed as lamb, than mutton dressed as mutton!

Carole

Robert and I decided not to go to Cairds because of the wind.  Though annoyingly it doesn't seem so bad now.

Carole

MarkS

Yes the wind finally dropped but the sky quality was not very good - hovering around 20.5  (typically I get 20.8 before midnight and 21.0 after midnight)

Mark

JohnP

Mark does 0.3 really make all that difference...? (whatever 0.3 is...)

Carole

Stayed up to 3.30 am, it was still clear but had had enough by then as I started at 6pm. 

I did something I've never done before, in-so-much as my grandson has been in Farnborough Hospital this week having had an appendicectomy, and because of the dreadful parking costs etc my daughter hasn't been taking her car there to stay with him.  So I left the imaging running while I went to Farnborough to pick them both up after having checked Sat24.

Did consider showing my husband how to close the dome in an emergency, but decided it was unlikely to rain (he doesn't drive in case you're wondering).   

Carole

Fay

Adrian may not have been a good dome closer, Carole!    :lol:

Carole

Yes, I thought "what is the lesser of two evils", Adrian bumping into my kit while he is trying to close the dome and damaging/moving cameras etc, or taking a chance on the weather which did look as though it would be OK.

Carole

The Thing