• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

Hi there!

Started by Ann, Mar 13, 2010, 22:25:15

Previous topic - Next topic

Ann

Just want to introduce myself to the forum. I am a novice skywatcher, I have been reading a lot of books relating to quantum physics, astronomy and cosmology and I must say I have become totally fascinated by the universe and our place within it.

Like previous posters I, too, would like to buy a decent telescope in order to participate in the wonders of astronomy. I would, therefore, really like to come and join some of you and get some good advice about the kind of telescope I should buy because I don't know where to start. :roll:

Look forward to coming to one of your meetings in the not too distant future.

Regards Ann

Rick

Welcome, Ann. You're welcome to come along to an observing evening (meeting in the "Change of Horses" in Farnborough Village) or one of our main meetings at High Elms. Details are on our main website.

Also, you should now be able to contribute to discussions in other parts of the forum.

doug

Welcome, Ann from Rose and Doug.  There is an Observing evening this Tuesday, meeting at the "Change of Horses" pub in Farnborough village, at about 7.30pm.  If you see a group of strange looking persons sitting in one corner of the pub, come and make yourself known. 

Looking forward to meeting you,

Rose and Doug.  :D
Always look on the bright side of life ...

Carole

Hi Ann,

Nice to have another female on board.  Yes do come along to Observing sessions and meetings, and chat on this forum.  There are lots of members with years of experience ready to offer advice on buying that first telescope.