• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

processing and stacking

Started by MarkH, Dec 17, 2013, 17:06:33

Previous topic - Next topic

MarkH

From a total beginners point of veiw I'm just getting started, what software would people recommend. Also some pointers at what order to approach the dark art of processing :roll:

Carole

Stacking:

For a beginner Deep Sky Stacker which is free is pretty good, though some people graduate onto fancier paid software as they become more experienced.  Really depends how technical you are and what you can cope with.  Mark uses Iris which I believe is free but it's not a walk in the park.

Processing:
Photoshop CS3 onwards is excellent for this.  Some are using Pixinsight but it is not exactly straightforward for the beginner. 

HTH

Carole

Ivor

This is one of those big questions which can go in so many different directions and everyone has a different opinion. The first piece of advice I'd give you is don't spend any money on software until your are sure it is the right product for you, there are so many good tools out there which are either freeware or try before you buy there's no need.

If you bought the Canon DSLR you were discussing a very popular tool in the club is APT, it's easy to use and I believe there is a demo version. IRIS is another great application (and free) but in my opinion it is more suited to intermediate to advance users.

Deep Sky Stacker is a great post capture tool, the manual has lots of details and explains all the Darks, Flats, Bias process pretty well, I think I must of read it thirty times before I started getting my head around it. There's load of Youtube tutorials so you should be alright. I haven't used it for a while but I do remember it being slow.