• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

Pelican Nebula IC5070 & IC5067 + a reprocess

Started by Carole, May 14, 2012, 17:33:42

Previous topic - Next topic

Carole

After doing Venus last night, I switched to the DSLR and had a go at the Pelican Nebula.
This is my first try at this object as a "stand alone" object.
Pity I chopped off the end of it's beak.
Hope to add to it, or better still get all of it in next time!!!

This is 1 hour 40 mins in total
20 x 5mins 800 ISO Modified Canon 450D CLS filter
Skywatcher ED120 F7.5
Guided with QHY5 ST80 on NEQ6
Processed in DSS and Photoshop

Carole

mickw

Is that a crop ?
It seems to look a bit "grainy"

Looking good though
Growing Old is mandatory - Growing Up is optional

Carole

No it's the full frame Mick.
Yes it is a bit grainy, I think it needs more data, but it's the best I have done on this object to date, it being included in NGC7000 a couple of times.

Carole

RobertM

That's pretty good considering.  What time of the morning did you do the capture ?

Carole

After midnight Robert, I finished imaging as it was getting light and had to throw away the last few as it was too light which was about 4am, so I guess I must have started around 2am.  Although I did actually start about an hour before that, but something went wrong and APT only captured 1 of the 12 subs I did earlier so I wasted nearly an hours imaging time. 

Forgot to mention I dithered with this image.
Also needs a dark site I think.

Carole

RobertM

Yes, I thought you must have been up with the crows to capture that !

You'll always need a dark site for broadband data so don't expect too much from around here.

MarkS

Looks good -you can't expect much better from where you are.

Have you thought about using an H-alpha filter with your new Atik?  You'd be amazed at the difference.

Mark

Carole