• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

Gaussian Deconvolution

Started by MarkS, Dec 24, 2008, 06:41:33

Previous topic - Next topic

MarkS

For the last 18 months or so, I've been working on a project that makes true Gaussian Deconvolution really easy to use, even for someone who's never even heard of it - in fact, to make it even easier to use than Wavelets.  It builds upon a (non-astronomical) project I've been working on for over 10 years to refocus out of focus photos.

Mathematically, deconvolution ought to give superior results to "Wavelets" for astronomical images but it tends to be more difficult to use.  However, I've now got my program to the point where in just a few seconds it produces a much better result than, for instance, using the Wavelets function in Registax.  And the beauty is you don't even have to know what you are doing - just play with two slider controls until it "looks right".  The aim is to produce sharp, "natural looking" lunar and planetary images without the obvious signs of overprocessing that are typically seen. In addition an "expert" user can go even further and perform direct image manipulation in the wavenumber (i.e the frequency or Fourier) domain if they so wish.

My recent Shickard image was processed using it:

I hope to to host an imaging session sometime in the New Year to explain the concepts behind it and to demonstrate it in action.  Also to make it available to anyone who wants it - the program should be stable enough by then.  It will be free of charge since it is still really only a prototype - I simply don't have the time to write, maintain and support a production quality application.