• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

Hello Astronomers!!!

Started by spacenickoy, Nov 21, 2007, 16:41:03

Previous topic - Next topic

spacenickoy

Hello people of the forum,

I have a couple of questions and replies would be extremely helpful.

I've just discovered you as my most local group through the bbc website, (I live in Bromley) ((well hayes))
and am really interested in coming to a couple of meetings as a keen amateur astronomer.

My Background is as follows-
I am 19, so a youthful touch but need some help from the 'wisdomous' amongst you. I check space updates daily from space.com, live and breath that vast dark sea and purchased an 8" dob in April of this year.

However, I skipped one first class bit of advise before buying and that was to attend an astronomy club before so to guage what scope would suit me and get night sky advice. A couple of problems I have, go as far as collimation and lack of constellation knowledge which is a bit of a bitch and leaves me needing a compass and checking hour by hour sky updates on heavens above.com to find anything.

I just wanted to know how your meetings work, are they split into several divisons that allow for interaction with each other during, or is it mainly 1 person talking the whole time? I am really interested in meeting others who share the passion, I am trying to get a few of my friends interested but most of the stuff I say falls on deaths ears. Also will my age pose a problem and are you a friendly bunch?

look forward to hearing from you

your humble fabulist,

Nick

Mike

Nick,

Welcome to the forum !!  :)