• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

Introduction

Started by MarkG, Aug 26, 2021, 10:34:06

Previous topic - Next topic

MarkG

Hello all :)

New member!
I am Mark, 51 years young, work in cyber security, love tinkering and integrating and I've been captivated by deep sky photography. I'm a relative newb with this so bare with ;)

I've lived in Petts Wood most of my life so those of you local to me we've probably passed by each other so will be interesting to try and see who's who :)

So, i've been messing around with astronomy on and off for years, but recently ( before lockdown 1 ) decided to make a proper commitment to it so i got myself a telescope.. astromaster eq130 as a beginner scope and some attachments like barlows and a few other focal tubes and experimented with webcam's and a few astro cams as well as connecting my canon 550d and having a learning curve on focal ranges to get over. ( prior to this i had researched extensively how to grind my own optics ! )

So now winding forward to now, i'm a bit more experienced, and each rabbit hole i go down i learn more things... as such.. my 'box' of things has grown and i seem to have more tubes and 'stuff'.. absolutely loving it to the point i built a eq tracker.... failed... bought one... not happy with it.. got another... still not happy with it... got a new one now happy and learning with it. and the software side of things.. thats my biggest challenge at the moment, is understanding all the knobs and dials settings and sliders and what they mean in terms of making that capture to be proud of.

i like to throw myself into things so my apologies if this introduction seems a bit full on, i condensed down a lot of ramblings lol.