• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

M45 Pleiades 9-10 October 2015

Started by The Thing, Oct 11, 2015, 17:03:50

Previous topic - Next topic

The Thing

This is my first attempt at a mosaic. I have been trying to get rid of the obvious join with various pieces of software but have given up, partly because of the huge spikes on the top frame. That's what comes of having bright stars just out of shot. Next time I will use EQMosaic to position the frames and minimise overlap

This is 5h 20m or 65 x 300s @ISO800 taken over two nights, the first of which was a bit murky (lower frame). DeepSkyStacker did an excellent job of matching the images which were slightly relatively rotated. The calibration files were in the Master Group and the two sets of lights in two other groups.

Image date, time and location:   20151010 Manche, France
Telescope aperture and focal ratio:   Meade LX90 8", Baader Alan Gee II Telecompressor
Camera and filters used:   Canon 1000D Modded, no filters
Processing applied:   Deep Sky Stacker, uncropped.

Click for a much larger version, which is still only 60% of full size.

Fay

It is healthier to be mutton dressed as lamb, than mutton dressed as mutton!

Carole

Looks like good data and quite noise free for a Canon too, hopefully there will be something out there that will work, I have never done a mosaic except to stitch it together manually.  You'll have to get yourself a smaller scope for larger objects Duncan. 

Carole

The Thing

Quote from: Fay on Oct 11, 2015, 17:16:47
try Microsoft Ice, free

It might be free but it had no idea!

RobertM

Nice try Duncan, good colour coming out on the left but those spikes definitely make processing a challenge !!!

Robert

The Thing