• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

Collimation phobia

Started by Kenny, Jan 26, 2014, 17:48:17

Previous topic - Next topic

Kenny

I've got two Newtonian telescopes.

• An unbranded "Event Horizon" (actual brand unknown) one with a 6" mirror, dodgy equatorial mount, purchased from a manufacturer somewhere in the far east via eBay (is this too much confessing? I was a complete newbie!). Has stood me in good stead though.
  • An Orion Skyquest 8" dobsonian which was given to me a few years later. I use this as my main telescope these days as it's so quick and easy to set up and manoeuver about.

I'm ashamed to say, neither of the two scopes have ever been collimated in the time (7+ years) that I've owned them.  :oops:

I've watched the best that YouTube has to offer and am willing to give this a go now. Two questions come to mind, one simple, one scary:

• I don't own a laser collimator. Is it important how much I spend on one (keeping budget in mind)? I see that considerations are variable brightness, laser-self-collimation screws, angled "target". Can somebody recommend a good, but reasonably priced, one?
  • Now for the scary bit... neither of the telescopes have a centre dot on the primary mirror. I nervously presume that what I actually need to do is remove the primary mirror, clean it, and fix a centre dot, before re-assembling then collimating as per YouTube?

Gentle, supportive guidance appreciated.

:-?

Kylee

Hi Kenny

I was really terrified of doing this but since I purchased my laser collimator it's really easy. Don't be scared....I can collimate my scope in minutes now.

I'll check out my collimator and let you know what brand it is   :D

Kylee

You definitely need the dot to be sure you are truly central  :-?

MarkH