• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

Beginner

Started by MarkH, Nov 17, 2013, 14:50:02

Previous topic - Next topic

MarkH

Hi everyone I'm new to the society and when I see the right person I can pay my subs and become a member. I'm a total beginner to astrophotography and am unsure how to start. I have a Meade lx90 8", an Olympus e500 or Orion starshoot and have downloaded deepskystacker. At the moment I don't have an equatorial mount. I am unsure what asa/shutter speed/f stop/ how many exposures. Any simple pointers for a beginner?

mickw

Hi Mark
I believe the LX90 mount can be tilted to to replicate an equatorial mount (although not as rigid or stable)
If you're using the camera with a T mount adapter, the Olympus should work with ASA 800 at between 30 - 60 secs unguided
The manual for the starshoot should explain it's use.

This will give a reasonable start into the money pit of astrophotography  ;)
Growing Old is mandatory - Growing Up is optional

Mac

Greetings Mark.

As mick said welcome to the money pit.
Have a quick read of this it should give you an idea of what to expect,

http://forum.orpington-astronomy.org.uk/index.php?topic=6334.0

If you do have any further questions just ask,

It dosent matter how silly you think the question is, we were all standing in your shoes once.

You may well get more then one answer to your question as there normally more then one way to do something,
but it should help guide you in parting with your well earned money.

Advice is always free. Acting on it is the expensive bit.  :cheesy:

Mac.

Jim

Hi Mark

I think we met at the open evening?. I initially started with an E500. It's really not a good camera to use, most people use Canon's with liveview but from my experience: