• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

M64 Black Eye Galaxy

Started by Carole, Apr 07, 2013, 22:01:04

Previous topic - Next topic

Carole

I started to image this after my original target disappeared behind the dome at 11pm.  This is my first attempt at this object and I didn't know how small it would be, but didn't want to waste the clear sky.  Also after the problems with the CCD cameras a few nights ago I wanted to use the DSLR to eliminate a problem with the scope itself.

35 x 300secs Modified Canon 450D CLS filter
Guided with QHY5 PHD and finder guider
Skywatcher Explorer 200PDS Newtonian
Captured in APT with dithering

With newly acquired coma corrector.  Unfortunately I wasn't able to get the spacing exact as the DSLR needed a thread adapter which was only 1mm but this put the spacing at 1mm too much.  Also focus was only just achieved at completely closed position of the focusser so it was a bit of a close thing.
The coma corrector is also a reducer so this brought the focal ratio down to F4.5

Close up

The full frame:

Link to larger file:
http://gallery.orpington-astronomy.org.uk/albums/userpics/10047/Black_eye_galaxy_35_x_5mins_DSLR_Newt_6-4-13_2nd_save.png

Carole

Fay

you did well Carole. change to see something we have not seen on here before. i think it would be too tiny for me to try that with my 120
It is healthier to be mutton dressed as lamb, than mutton dressed as mutton!

Carole

Thanks Fay.

I don't see any problems on this image regarding the issues I had the other night with the CCD cameras, so I think this confirms that the problem is with the cameras and not the Newtonian itself.  Also am pleased to see the noise levels are better with this set up than with the DSLR and F7.5 refractors. 

Carole

JohnP