• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

M16 from Blacklands 18-8-12

Started by Carole, Aug 20, 2012, 00:08:08

Previous topic - Next topic

Carole

I was pleased for the opportunity to image this subject which is behind the trees at home and also at Rother Valley. Apart from 2 x 5min subs at High Halden last year (before it clouded up), this is my first attempt at this object.  

20 x 5mins 800 ISO, Modified Canon 450D @ 18 degrees and very damp
Skywatcher ED120, guided with PHD and dithering in APT on NEQ6
I stupidly left the CLS filter in place

There is a strange problem with the stars in this which seems also to be a problem in my M16 at High Halden.  Guiding graph was fine (Mike saw this at the time), I am just wondering what the cause is likely to be.  Fortunately it doesn't show up unless you look at the very large version.

Larger file:
http://gallery.orpington-astronomy.org.uk/albums/userpics/10047/M16_Blacklands_18-8-12_ED120_20_x_5mins_800_ISO_full_frame_CLs_filter_dith_APT.png

Carole

MarkS

It looks good - especially the central crop -you've got some good detail there and the colouring looks right. The noise is probably caused by the high temperature that night. 

The CLS filter has probably helped here by keeping doen the background glow and therefore making it easier to precess.

What problem with the stars are you referring to?

Mark

Carole

Thanks Mark.

QuoteWhat problem with the stars are you referring to?
Well it seems to be worse on the original subs, stacking and processing seem to have improved it somewhat.
Basically, egg shaped stars with some chromatic aberration.  

This is a crop of an enlargement of one of the RAW subs.

Carole

Fay