• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

Long, yellow and very fast

Started by MarkS, Jan 23, 2010, 11:48:23

Previous topic - Next topic

MarkS

I'm long, yellow and very fast.  But I'm not a jet propelled banana. What am I?

Tony G

The cake mix from the new mixer, after leaving the bowl with the mixer on full speed, flying across the kitchen. :D

Tony G
"I'm normally not a praying man, but if you're up there, please save me Superman." - Homer Simpson

mickw

Oh I was going to say that  :cry:

OK, how about a resprayed ED80 with a ridiculous FR

Or Faststar for the C11
Growing Old is mandatory - Growing Up is optional

Daniel

Not a Takahashi Epsilon by any chance??

MarkS

Spot on, Daniel!

Yes, I'm now the proud owner of a Takahashi Epsilon 180ED.  Focal length of 500mm at a very fast F2.8

I've been really impressed what you've managed to achieve from an urban location with your hyperstar at F2 and decided that fast optics is definitely the way to go.  I think C14 + Hyperstar would be great for a permanent setup but I definitely need it to be portable.  So the Tak Epsilon astrograph is the next best thing.

It's been designed ground up for astrophotography and is built like a tank (just like everything Takahashi).  It also has pin sharp stars over a much bigger area than a DSLR CCD.  I can't wait to try it out, but I've got to buy the Canon adaptor for it first.

Mark

Daniel

Wow, can't wait to see what you produce with this beast, my one dissapointment with the hyperstar has been the vignetting you'd get with anything larger than an APS-C size sensor.

By the way, now I know who's to blame for this awful weather we've been having!!!

Daniel
:O)

Rick

Quote from: Daniel on Jan 23, 2010, 14:22:36this awful weather

Too many folks spending Way Too Much(tm) on Very Expensive Telescopes(tm) ... ;)

We're Doomed...

Tony G