• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

Help please! My computer has died!

Started by Delphine, Jan 24, 2009, 17:23:29

Previous topic - Next topic

Delphine

I hope this message is in the right place. 

My desktop computer won't switch on.  I have tried different plugs etc.  It occasionally makes a short faint whine when I try to switch it on so I am guessing it must be some motor or other!  Is this fatal?  It is 6 years old but don't particularly want to replace it.

I have heard that there is a particularly nasty virus going around at the moment - could it be that?

Can one of you computer bofs give me some advice please.  Many thanks, Delphine

Carole

I'm no expert, but I had a similar problem with a computer in the past and the start up mechanism had gone wrong.  I guess it would not be too difficult to repair by some-one who knows what to do.

Are you trying to start it up with battery or mains.  If battery, try mains as it could be your battery that's at fault.

Carole

Mac

Quotehave heard that there is a particularly nasty virus going around at the moment - could it be that?

Nope.
If it was the virus, you would still see the pc go through its booting and loading phase.

The normal procedure for a pc to boot is the following.

Power on.
Bios screen (displays on the screen amount of memory, disk drives, ect)
Load windows, (various bits of info, normally with windows logo.)
Display user Logon screen or go straight into windows.

as you say its dead i would try the following.

If you were to unplug everything on your motherboard (except graphics card!) and power it up you will still see the bios screen.

so if the PC is not displaying anything at all you could have a major fault.
Finding the offending item is quite straight forward.