• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

Newbie astronomer - a big hello from Nick E

Started by Nick E, Jul 02, 2008, 10:15:16

Previous topic - Next topic

Nick E

Hello everyone,

I'm new to astronomy (and forums!) with no experience other than casually sweeping around with a pair of 10x50 binoculars from Lidl and fairly poor views of Saturn & Jupiter with a cheap 76mm newtonian from Aldi. I have always had an interest however and even went to a couple of Croydon Astronomy clubs meetings when I was about 10 years old. I won a bottle of champagne in the raffle on my first visit - my dad was pleased!

In January I finally brought a 'proper' telescope albeit a modest one - a Sky Watcher 5" Mak Cass on a tracking alt-az mount. M42 looked great earlier in the year - I even managed a picture of it with my DSLR on my new telescope. Since then I have had reasonable views of Saturn and Jupiter (although they are both a bit low at the moment) and glimpsed Mars earlier in the year but much as I check star maps and the 'whats up there this month' sections in the magazines, I can't find anything even remotely fuzzy up there. I suspect living in Sutton doesn't help... I have even flocked the inside of the scope and bought a broadband LPR filter (Astronomik CLS) but still couldn't see anything although I have only had one 'searching session' with this so far.

I strongly suspect that much of my woes are from not knowing quite what I should be looking for. Many objects are probably bigger/smaller than I imagine and I really know whether I'm looking in the right places. I point the scope at the nearest star to my target with the finder and then try to move it 'that way a bit' but whether I've moved it quite the right direction or the right amount I don't know.