Author Topic: Lost QSI filter wheel connection in Astroart  (Read 186 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Fay

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 9210
    • Faysastroimages
Lost QSI filter wheel connection in Astroart
« on: Sep 17, 2020, 11:16:22 »
I know I am now archaic, with my equipment, but .......
Connected my modified dslr to Astroart, after much faffing around, but lost QSI connection and settings. after much more faffing, i have got QSI reconnected to Astroart, but filter wheel controls greyed out. have had to start from beginning installing qsi etc, nightmare. has anyone any idea how I can get it going again

Thanks a lot, still in my night clothes, as spending so much time in a panic trying to get it sorted

It is healthier to be mutton dressed as lamb, than mutton dressed as mutton!

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8743
    • Carole's images
Re: Lost QSI filter wheel connection in Astroart
« Reply #1 on: Sep 17, 2020, 11:59:07 »
Sorry, can't help Fay.
a) Never used AA for capture
b) Confused how connected a DSLR has anything to do with a filterwheel, unless you have made some sort of modification.

Hope you get it sorted.

Carole

Fay

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 9210
    • Faysastroimages
Re: Lost QSI filter wheel connection in Astroart
« Reply #2 on: Sep 17, 2020, 12:27:25 »
i connecedt a dslr to astroart, but somehow all QSI info disappeared, from Astroart, have reistalled etc but will not recognise filter wheel. greyed out
It is healthier to be mutton dressed as lamb, than mutton dressed as mutton!

Fay

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 9210
    • Faysastroimages
Re: Lost QSI filter wheel connection in Astroart
« Reply #3 on: Sep 17, 2020, 15:03:56 »
what capture program do you use Carol?
It is healthier to be mutton dressed as lamb, than mutton dressed as mutton!

Carole

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Cluster
  • *
  • Posts: 8743
    • Carole's images
Re: Lost QSI filter wheel connection in Astroart
« Reply #4 on: Sep 18, 2020, 17:02:56 »
I am also archaic, I use Artemis.  Works for Atik Cameras and filterwheels.
Have you tried APT seems to accept most cameras, DSLRs and filterwheels. 

Carole

The Thing

  • Mr October
  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 2942
  • The OAS International Branch
    • AstroManche
Re: Lost QSI filter wheel connection in Astroart
« Reply #5 on: Sep 19, 2020, 09:33:39 »
Hi Fay,

Did windows do an update recently? It may have decided that the QSI filter wheel driver was surplus to requirements and kindly removed it for you :x I would try re-installing its drivers. Maybe look on QSI's site for an update while your at it.

Keep well,

Duncan
We're all guinea pigs in the laboratory of life. Better a fluffy guinea pig than a lab rat!
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ (Gallic shrug :))

NoelC

  • O. A. S.
  • Star Class
  • *
  • Posts: 447
Re: Lost QSI filter wheel connection in Astroart
« Reply #6 on: Sep 23, 2020, 12:20:22 »
Fay
I have AA5 (but don't use it).  From memory you have to download the plugins and install them (look at the AA site for instructions).
http://www.msb-astroart.com/aasupp.htm
You may need a copy of the QSI software installer to get the plugin from:-
https://qsimaging.com/drivers-software/#cd-and-drivers

I use APT at present (clunky but when you've got it set up, it seems to keep working). Focus routine on it is just OK, other features are good.  APT will operate QSI devices directly (according to the instructions with it).

Noel
Synta mount, a bunch of telescopes and a shed (on wheels).

RobertM

  • O. A. S.
  • Galaxy Class
  • *
  • Posts: 4404
Re: Lost QSI filter wheel connection in Astroart
« Reply #7 on: Sep 23, 2020, 18:09:56 »
Fay,

Did you get the QSI sorted out ? 

Robert