• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

Jovets Observatory build

Started by Ivor, Oct 21, 2014, 10:34:35

Previous topic - Next topic

Ivor

My observatory build was meant to start in the spring of 2014 however a few unexpected events delayed the start and I found myself starting the project in October instead. Clearly autumn isn't the best time of year to start so there's going to some busy weekends trying to kept ahead of the weather and dwindling light.
I'm lucky in many ways with my garden I can see Polaris and I have a 270 degree southerly view, light pollution isn't too bad for an urban location so I'm very grateful. The big challenge with my garden is the depth the picture below shows the challenge and you soon start to understand my wife's hesitance for an observatory so close to the house.

The view of garden above is due west and as I've mentioned I can see Polaris but it's only just over the ridge tiles of the house.

A roll off roof solution was quickly ruled out due to space and there is only one spot in the garden where I can locate the Observatory and see Polaris so many of my decisions have been made for me. I have a space of 3m2 to work with and to add to my challenge the garden is sloped towards the house. I also want the design to be portable, there is small chance I will be able to buy some extra land behind the house in a couple of years and I'd want to relocate away from the house if the opportunity arose.