• Welcome to Orpington Astronomical Society.

News:

New version SMF 2.1.4 installed. You may need to clear cookies and login again...

Main Menu

My first ever capture of Jupiter!

Started by Kylee, Dec 16, 2011, 23:16:27

Previous topic - Next topic

Kylee

Jupiter1a by kylee40, on Flickr

This is my first attempt...considering I had no clue what I was doing I was really chuffed. Would there be any way that on one of the imaging nights someone could go back to basics and maybe cover using a webcam and registax. I know it's probably basic compared to the usual Astrophotography but i could do with some help!!

Thanks

Kylee  :D

(Edit: tidied link - Rick)

Carole

Wow Kylee, you don't hang around, that's really good for a first attempt.

I am covering webcam imaging at the imaging session at my house on 16th March as Saturn, Mars and Jupiter will be up. I hope there will be some more webcam experts on hand though as I find webcamming more difficult than Deep sky stuff.

What's the spec on this Kylee.  
Telescope, webcam used, did you use an IR filter, how many frames stacked, stacking software (I assume this was Registax), and any post processing.  When was it taken?

You've got a couple of Moons there too if you lift the brightness you can see them.

Well done
Carole

Carole

Hope you don't mind Kylee, but I had a little play with your image in Photoshop, and I think you've also captured the redspot.  I've also brought out the Moons.

You'd be surprised what you can find buried in an image.
This is better than any image I have managed to acquire of Jupiter.  

MarkS

Excellent result Kylee!

You should be really pleased with that.

Mark

Kylee

OMG Carole ....I am so shocked at what you've managed to do with my picture. This is why I need help...really don't know what i'm doing but the fact I've managed to capture something that can look like that... i'm absolutely speechless. I've really got to learn how to process these images. That's truly amazing.